CDAPA logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CDAPA Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass

TL;DR
  • CCDAPP does not publicly disclose a numeric passing score or a pass rate for the CDAPA exam.
  • The exam is 100 multiple-choice questions on one transportation modality, with four hours allowed under the January 2026 guide.
  • The $350 fee covers application review, the official guide, and one exam attempt; retakes within one year cost $100.
  • After three failed attempts, candidates must wait three years before submitting a new application.

The Honest Answer: No Public Numeric Passing Score

If you searched for the CDAPA passing score hoping to find a clean number like "70 percent" or "a scaled 500," here is the straight answer: the Certification Commission for Drug and Alcohol Program Professionals (CCDAPP) does not publicly disclose a numeric passing score for the Certified Drug and Alcohol Program Administrator exam. It also does not publish a pass rate. Any site that states a specific cut score as fact, without citing a CCDAPP document, is guessing or borrowing from a different credential.

That matters because several unrelated credentials share similar acronyms, and their scoring details get mixed into search results. This article covers only the Certified Drug and Alcohol Program Administrator credential issued by CCDAPP. What follows is what is actually known, what is not known, and how to prepare sensibly when the finish line is not published.

Why this article stays qualitative on scoring: Inventing a percentage would be easy and would get clicks, but it would also mislead you about how much to study. The accurate position is that the cut score is undisclosed. Plan to master the material rather than to hit a rumored threshold. For a fuller picture of published outcome data, see our breakdown of the CDAPA pass rate and what the data shows.

What CCDAPP Does Disclose About Scoring and Format

Although the passing number is not public, the exam's structure is documented in the January 2026 CCDAPP Credential Information Guide and related application materials. Here is what candidates can rely on:

Exam ElementWhat Is Published
Question count100 multiple-choice questions
ModalityQuestions are drawn for a selected transportation modality
Time allowedFour hours under the January 2026 guide
Numeric passing scoreNot publicly disclosed
Pass rateNot publicly disclosed
Scored vs. unscored itemsSplit not disclosed
Per-topic percentagesNo official weights verified
Reference materialsClosed book

Two items in that table deserve emphasis. First, the scored versus unscored split is not disclosed, so you cannot reliably convert "number of questions I felt good about" into a predicted result. Second, there are no verified per-topic percentages, so you cannot safely decide to skip an area because it "probably counts for less."

Why You Should Not Trust Any "Magic Number" You Find Online

When an official body stays silent on a metric, third-party sites fill the gap. Here is how to evaluate claims you may encounter about the CDAPA cut score:

  • Check the citation. A legitimate claim points to a CCDAPP document. The public sources for this credential are the CCDAPP certification page, the Credential Info Guide, the CDAPA application, and the recertification materials. None of these state a numeric passing score.
  • Watch for borrowed numbers. A figure that appears on a page about a different "CDAPA" credential, or about a generalist substance abuse exam, does not apply here.
  • Distrust precision without a source. Specific-sounding percentages are the most common form of invented data on certification sites.
  • Remember the protected guide. The full study guide is protected and was not publicly inspected, so claims about what it says about scoring cannot be verified from public pages alone.

If you want context on how demanding the exam is without relying on a fabricated number, our guide on how hard the CDAPA exam is walks through difficulty drivers qualitatively.

Preparing Without a Cut Score: The Five Content Areas

Because the passing threshold and per-topic weights are not published, the safest strategy is balanced competence across every published subject area. CCDAPP's CDAPA content is organized under five headings. These are unweighted subject headings, not an official weighted blueprint, so treat them as a coverage checklist rather than a priority ranking.

Domain 1: Motor Carriers modality-specific content

This is the modality-focused portion of your exam. Your selected transportation modality shapes the questions, so your preparation here should reflect the regulations, program responsibilities, and administrative duties specific to motor carriers.

  • Employer program responsibilities in the motor carrier setting
  • Which testing situations apply and how a program administrator handles them
  • Documentation and recordkeeping expectations for the modality

Domain 2: Specimen collection

Program administrators must understand how collections work well enough to manage the process, spot problems, and know what happens when something goes wrong.

  • The collection process from the administrator's vantage point
  • Chain-of-custody concepts and why they protect the integrity of results
  • Common collection-site problems and how they are resolved

Domain 3: Medical Review Officer (MRO)

The MRO's role sits between the laboratory and the employer. Candidates should be able to explain what the MRO does and how administrators interact with that role.

  • The MRO's review function and why it exists
  • How verified results move to the employer
  • The administrator's responsibilities when working with the MRO

Domain 4: Substance Abuse Professional (SAP)

The SAP process comes into play after a violation. Administrators need to understand sequencing, who does what, and what the employer must and must not do.

  • When an employee enters the SAP process
  • The roles of the employer, the SAP, and the employee
  • Return-to-duty and follow-up concepts at a program-management level

Domain 5: Laboratory

Laboratory questions typically test whether you understand how specimens are analyzed and reported, and where laboratory outcomes feed into the broader program.

  • The laboratory's place in the testing chain
  • How results are reported and what that means for the administrator
  • Why laboratory procedures matter for defensible outcomes

For a deeper treatment of each area, read our complete guide to the five CDAPA content areas.

Motor Carriers Modality Preparation

CCDAPP lists six specializations for the credential: Motor Carriers, Aviation, Transit, Railroad, Pipeline, and Coast Guard. These specializations are not weighted exam domains. Instead, your exam is built around one selected transportation modality. This site's preparation is scoped to Motor Carriers, so the practice material you will find here concentrates on that modality rather than blending six separate exams together.

This has a practical implication for how you think about "passing." Because a single modality drives the question set, studying material from a different modality can waste hours and, worse, plant details that conflict with what you need on exam day. Decide on your modality at the application stage and keep your study materials aligned with it.

Modality discipline: Do not combine notes from multiple transportation modalities and assume they overlap. Rules and administrative expectations differ by modality, and the exam you sit tests the one you selected. Our CDAPA study guide keeps the preparation path focused on a single modality.

Exam-Day Rules That Affect Your Result

Without a published cut score, the most controllable part of your outcome is how smoothly the sitting goes. CCDAPP administers the exam through live web-proctored online sessions or arranged convention or commissioner sittings. The commercial testing vendor is not publicly identified, so rely on CCDAPP's own instructions.

The exam is closed book, and the conventional exam prohibits calculators and electronic aids. For remote sittings, the published protocol is strict:

  • Valid ID is required.
  • A webcam must be active.
  • You need a private, cleared room.
  • Unrelated applications on your computer must be closed.
  • One paper sheet and a pen or pencil are permitted.
  • No breaks are allowed during the sitting.

The no-break rule is easy to overlook when the exam runs four hours. Plan hydration, meals, and bathroom timing before you log in, because you cannot pause mid-exam. If you need an accommodation, requests must be made in advance, so do not wait until the week of your sitting.

Fees, Retakes, and the Cost of Missing the Mark

Since the passing score is unpublished, you cannot know exactly how close a failed attempt was. What you can know is what a miss costs and how many chances you have.

ItemPublished Detail
Base feeUS$350, including application and credential review, the official guide, and the exam
Member/non-member pricingNo split; one fee
Retake within one year$100
Late cancellation / no-show rescheduling$25 listed charge
Standalone study guide$150; not automatically added to the package
Window to pass after approvalWithin one year of application approval
After three failuresThree-year wait before a new application

The one-year window and the three-failure rule together shape your strategy. You have a limited runway after approval, and repeated unsuccessful attempts carry a long waiting period. That argues for sitting the exam when you are genuinely ready rather than treating the first attempt as a trial run. For the complete fee picture, see our CDAPA certification cost breakdown.

Key Takeaway

The $100 retake fee is modest, but the three-year lockout after three failures is the real risk. Treat your first attempt seriously, and use a diagnostic practice test on the main practice test site before you schedule so you are not discovering gaps on exam day.

Eligibility Comes Before Any Score

You cannot reach the exam, and therefore the passing score, until your application is approved. CCDAPP's published eligibility requires:

  • 24 relevant training hours within the past five years, with a maximum of eight hours credited per course
  • 4,000 hours across two years of relevant professional experience, spanning at least three of seven areas
  • Supporting training records and experience verification

No fixed universal reference count and no degree requirement are listed. Approval is also what starts your one-year clock to pass, so do not submit before you are ready to begin serious preparation. Our CDAPA requirements guide covers qualification in detail, and CDAPA exam dates and scheduling explains how sittings fit together.

A Readiness Plan Built Around the Five Areas

Since no area is officially weighted, spread your effort evenly at first, then shift time toward your weakest area after a diagnostic. One compact schedule that respects the exam's structure:

Week 1

Motor Carriers modality content

  • Anchor your study in the modality your exam will test
  • Build a vocabulary list of program-administrator terms
Week 2

Specimen collection and laboratory

  • Study the process from collection through analysis as one connected chain
  • Note where documentation and custody matter most
Week 3

MRO and SAP

  • Map who acts, in what order, after a result or violation
  • Practice scenario questions about administrator responsibilities
Week 4

Full-length timed practice

  • Sit 100-question practice sets within a four-hour limit
  • Rehearse closed-book conditions with one sheet of paper only

Covering collection and laboratory together, and MRO and SAP together, reflects how the program actually flows from specimen to result to consequence. Scenario-style practice is the highest-value activity, because multiple-choice items for administrators usually test judgment about who does what. Pair this schedule with the CDAPA cheat sheet for fast review, and use practice questions at the CDAPA Exam Prep practice test to check your readiness.

After You Pass: Renewal and Why It Matters

Passing is the start of an ongoing obligation. The credential renews on a three-year cycle. The CDAPA-specific 2026 recertification form calls for 16 continuing-education hours in at least three areas, plus a $350 fee and adherence to practice standards. Live courses are credited up to eight hours each, and home-study courses up to four hours each.

A conflict to be aware of: CCDAPP's generic website references 24 credits, which conflicts with the CDAPA-specific 2026 form and continuing-education table. When in doubt, follow the CDAPA-specific recertification application and confirm with CCDAPP directly before you plan your hours.

Whether the effort is worthwhile depends on your career goals. Explore whether the CDAPA certification is worth it, review the CDAPA salary guide, and see the types of CDAPA jobs available to credentialed administrators.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the CDAPA passing score?

CCDAPP does not publicly disclose a numeric passing score for the Certified Drug and Alcohol Program Administrator exam. The scored versus unscored question split is also undisclosed, so prepare for competence across all content areas rather than chasing a rumored number.

How many questions are on the CDAPA exam, and how long do I have?

The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions for a selected transportation modality. The January 2026 guide allows four hours. The exam is closed book, and remote sittings do not permit breaks.

What happens if I fail the CDAPA exam?

You may retake within one year for $100. You must pass within one year after your application is approved. After three failures, you must wait three years before submitting a new application.

Are the five content areas weighted equally?

No official per-topic percentages have been verified, so the largest weighted area is unknown. The five areas are Motor Carriers modality-specific content, specimen collection, MRO, SAP, and laboratory. Treat them as unweighted subject headings and prepare for all of them.

Does the $350 fee include the study guide?

Yes, the $350 fee includes application and credential review, the official guide, and the exam. The standalone guide sells separately for $150 but is not an automatic addition to the package. Learn more in our overview of what CDAPA certification involves.

Ready to pass your CDAPA exam?

Put this into practice with free CDAPA questions across every exam domain.