- What This Cheat Sheet Covers (and What It Doesn't)
- The One-Glance Fact Table
- Eligibility Numbers to Memorize
- Fees, Retakes and Rescheduling Charges
- Exam-Day Rules: Format, Proctoring and Prohibited Items
- The Five Content Areas at a Glance
- Motor Carriers: The Modality Layer
- Renewal Math and the 16 vs. 24 Conflict
- A Domain-Ordered Review Plan
- What Is Not Publicly Known
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The CDAPA exam is 100 multiple-choice questions in four hours, closed book, scoped to one transportation modality.
- US$350 covers application review, the official guide, and one exam attempt; retakes within a year cost $100.
- Eligibility requires 24 training hours within five years plus 4,000 hours of experience over two years across at least three of seven areas.
- Study the five published areas: Motor Carriers content, specimen collection, MRO, SAP, and laboratory.
What This Cheat Sheet Covers (and What It Doesn't)
This page compresses the verifiable facts about the Certified Drug and Alcohol Program Administrator (CDAPA) credential, issued by the Certification Commission for Drug and Alcohol Program Professionals (CCDAPP), into a single reference. It is built for candidates who already know what the credential is and want the numbers, rules and content areas in one place. If you are still orienting yourself, start with What Is CDAPA Certification? and come back.
One scoping note matters before the facts. The CDAPA is a transportation-focused drug and alcohol program credential, and CCDAPP offers it across several modalities. This site prepares you for the Motor Carriers modality. We do not blend six separate modality exams together, and we do not borrow the weighting of CCDAPP's separate generalist credential. Where a fact is not publicly confirmed, this sheet says so instead of guessing.
The One-Glance Fact Table
| Item | What the public sources say |
|---|---|
| Credential | Certified Drug and Alcohol Program Administrator (CDAPA) |
| Issuer | Certification Commission for Drug and Alcohol Program Professionals (CCDAPP) |
| Format | 100 multiple-choice questions for one selected transportation modality |
| Time limit | Four hours under the January 2026 guide |
| Scored vs. unscored items | Split not disclosed |
| Passing score | Numeric cut score not publicly disclosed |
| Pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
| Delivery | Live web-proctored online, or arranged convention/commissioner sittings |
| Exam fee package | US$350 (application/credential review, official guide, and exam) |
| Retake | $100 within one year |
| Completion window | Pass within one year after application approval |
| Lockout | Three failures means a three-year wait before a new application |
| Renewal cycle | Every three years |
For deeper treatment of the items marked "not disclosed," see our pages on the CDAPA passing score and the CDAPA pass rate. Short version: CCDAPP does not publish either number, so any figure you see quoted elsewhere is unverified.
Eligibility Numbers to Memorize
Eligibility is where many candidates stumble, because it is documentation-heavy rather than knowledge-heavy. The application is reviewed before you are allowed to sit the exam, and that review is part of what your fee covers.
The Two Eligibility Pillars
You must satisfy both a training requirement and an experience requirement.
- Training: 24 relevant training hours completed within the past five years.
- Experience: 4,000 hours across two years of relevant professional experience.
- Breadth: Experience must span at least three of the seven recognized areas.
- Course cap: A maximum of eight training hours is credited per course.
- Evidence: Supporting training records and experience verification are required.
Two points deserve emphasis. First, the eight-hour-per-course cap means you cannot satisfy the 24-hour requirement with a single long seminar; you need training from at least three courses. Second, CCDAPP does not specify a fixed universal number of references and does not impose a degree requirement. Your documented experience and training carry the application. Our full walkthrough is in CDAPA Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.
Key Takeaway
Build your documentation file before you pay anything. Collect certificates showing hours per course, and get written experience verification that maps your duties to at least three of the seven areas. A thin file is the most common reason an application stalls.
Fees, Retakes and Rescheduling Charges
The fee structure is simple, with no member/non-member split. Here is the entire public price list:
| Charge | Amount | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Certification package | US$350 | Includes application/credential review, official guide, and the exam |
| Retake | $100 | Applies when retaking within one year |
| Late-cancellation / no-show rescheduling | $25 | Listed charge for missed or late-cancelled sittings |
| Standalone study guide | $150 | Not automatically added on top of the package |
The practical implication: do not buy the standalone guide if you are registering for the full package, because the guide is already included. For a fuller breakdown including recertification costs, read CDAPA Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.
Mind the clock as well. You must pass within one year after your application is approved. Combined with the retake pricing, that window effectively defines your budget: one package fee, plus $100 for each additional attempt you need before the year runs out. Scheduling details are covered in CDAPA Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.
Exam-Day Rules: Format, Proctoring and Prohibited Items
The CDAPA is a closed-book exam. That matters because drug and alcohol program work is reference-heavy in real life; the exam instead tests whether you carry the essential rules in your head.
Remote Proctoring Protocol
If you test online, expect a strict environment. Under the published protocol, you need:
- Valid identification presented at check-in
- A working webcam
- A private, cleared room
- All unrelated applications closed on your computer
- One sheet of paper and a pen or pencil (the only permitted writing materials)
Breaks are prohibited during the sitting. With a four-hour limit, that is a real endurance consideration: eat beforehand, use the restroom beforehand, and practice sitting through long uninterrupted sessions in the weeks leading up.
Conventional Sittings
For arranged convention or commissioner sittings, calculators and electronic aids are prohibited. Candidates needing accommodations must request them in advance, so raise the request when you apply rather than the week of the exam.
If you want a realistic picture of what the sitting feels like, our difficulty guide breaks down where candidates tend to feel pressure.
The Five Content Areas at a Glance
CCDAPP publishes five subject headings for CDAPA preparation. These are unweighted headings, not an official weighted or exhaustive blueprint. No official per-topic percentages have been verified, and the largest-weighted area is unknown. Anyone quoting you exact domain percentages for this credential is not working from published CCDAPP data.
| # | Content area | What to anchor on |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | Motor Carriers modality-specific content | Employer-side program responsibilities for the Motor Carriers modality |
| 2 | Specimen collection | Collection procedures, chain of custody, collector and donor roles |
| 3 | Medical Review Officer (MRO) | How verified results are reviewed, interpreted and reported |
| 4 | Substance Abuse Professional (SAP) | Evaluation, referral, follow-up and return-to-duty pathway |
| 5 | Laboratory | Testing, reporting and the lab's role in the chain |
For a candidate-friendly walk through each heading, see CDAPA Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 5 Content Areas.
Domain 2: Specimen Collection
Think of this as the front door of the whole testing process. Questions here tend to reward procedural precision.
- Know the sequence of a collection from donor arrival through sealing and documentation.
- Understand why chain of custody exists and what a break in it means for the result.
- Be able to distinguish what the collector does from what the employer, MRO and laboratory do.
Domain 3: Medical Review Officer (MRO)
The MRO sits between the laboratory result and the employer's action. Expect scenario-style items about who reviews what, and who is told what.
- Understand the MRO's role in reviewing laboratory-reported results before they reach the employer.
- Know why a laboratory result alone is not the end of the story.
- Be clear on what information the MRO may and may not pass to the employer.
Domain 4: Substance Abuse Professional (SAP)
The SAP domain is about the pathway an employee follows after a violation. It is process-oriented and sequence-sensitive.
- Know the SAP's purpose: evaluation, recommendation, and follow-up oversight.
- Understand how the SAP fits between a violation and an employee's return to safety-sensitive duty.
- Be able to explain what the employer must wait for before a return-to-duty step occurs.
Domain 5: Laboratory
Laboratory questions center on the analytical side of the program and how results are handled and reported.
- Understand the laboratory's responsibilities within the testing chain.
- Know how results flow onward and to whom.
- Recognize where laboratory responsibility ends and MRO responsibility begins.
Motor Carriers: The Modality Layer
CCDAPP lists six specializations: Motor Carriers, Aviation, Transit, Railroad, Pipeline, and Coast Guard. Candidates select a transportation modality for the exam, and these specializations are not weighted exam domains; they are the lens through which the modality-specific questions are asked. This site's preparation is scoped to Motor Carriers.
In practical terms, Domain 1 is where the modality shows up. Your job is to know how a Motor Carriers employer's program operates: who the program administrator is accountable to, which employees fall under the program, and which testing situations arise in motor carrier operations. Questions in the other four areas will likely be asked in the context of your chosen modality as well, so keep your reasoning grounded in how a motor carrier would experience each step.
Key Takeaway
Do not study the other five modalities "just in case." The exam covers a single selected modality, and diluting your preparation across all six costs you depth where you need it. Master the shared process areas (collection, MRO, SAP, laboratory) and then layer Motor Carriers context on top.
Renewal Math and the 16 vs. 24 Conflict
The credential renews every three years. This is the one area where CCDAPP's own materials disagree, and a careful candidate should know the conflict exists.
| Source | CE requirement |
|---|---|
| CDAPA-specific 2026 recertification form and guide / CE table | 16 continuing-education hours in at least three areas, plus $350 and practice standards |
| Generic CCDAPP website page | States 24 credits |
The CDAPA-specific 2026 form, the guide, and the CE table agree with one another, so treat 16 hours across at least three areas as the working number, and confirm with CCDAPP before you finalize your plan. The caps matter too: a maximum of eight hours credited per live course and four hours per home-study course. That cap structure means you will need several separate activities to reach your total, so start collecting CE credit early rather than cramming in year three.
Renewal is also the point where the credential's long-term value is tested. If you are weighing the ongoing cost and effort, see Is the CDAPA Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 and the CDAPA Salary Guide 2026. Neither relies on invented figures; both treat compensation qualitatively where the data is not public.
A Domain-Ordered Review Plan
Because the five areas are unweighted publicly, a sensible plan orders them by logical dependency rather than by guessed weight. The testing process is a chain, and learning it in chain order makes each step easier to retain.
Specimen Collection
- Learn the collection sequence and chain-of-custody logic first, since everything downstream depends on it.
- Write the sequence out by hand on your single permitted sheet of paper, as you would on exam day.
Laboratory, then MRO
- Follow the specimen from collector to lab to MRO.
- Drill the boundary between laboratory and MRO responsibilities.
SAP and Return-to-Duty Pathway
- Map the post-violation pathway step by step.
- Practice scenarios asking what the employer may and may not do at each stage.
Motor Carriers Context and Full-Length Practice
- Layer Motor Carriers program specifics over everything above.
- Take a timed, uninterrupted, closed-book practice run to rehearse the no-breaks four-hour format.
Adjust the timeline to your background. A candidate who already administers a motor carrier program may need less time on Domain 1 and more on laboratory detail; a laboratory professional will likely invert that. For a fuller plan, use our CDAPA Study Guide 2026, and when you are ready to test yourself, work through the questions on the CDAPA Exam Prep practice test site.
What Is Not Publicly Known
A trustworthy cheat sheet should be explicit about its blind spots. The following are not publicly disclosed in the sources reviewed:
- The numeric passing score and the historical pass rate
- The split between scored and unscored questions on the 100-item exam
- Official per-topic percentage weights for the five content areas
- Which content area carries the most weight
- The commercial testing vendor, if any, behind the proctored delivery
Additional caveats: the protected full study guide was not inspected for this sheet. CCDAPP's study-guide page identifies a November 2025 version even though the page is still labelled 2024, while the guide and application were revised in January 2026. Because versions are inconsistent, always download the current materials directly from CCDAPP before you build a study plan around them. Sources reviewed include the CCDAPP certification page, the 2026 credential information guide, and the 2026 CDAPA application and recertification forms, as of the review date on file.
If you are comparing the credential against career options, our pages on CDAPA jobs and the CDAPA certification overview explain who typically pursues it and where the credential fits.
Frequently Asked Questions
The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions for your selected transportation modality, with a four-hour time limit under the January 2026 guide. The split between scored and unscored questions is not disclosed.
It covers application and credential review, the official study guide, and the exam itself, with no member/non-member price difference. The $150 standalone guide is not automatically added to the package. Retakes within one year cost $100, and a $25 charge applies to late cancellations or no-shows.
CCDAPP does not publicly disclose a numeric passing score or a pass rate. Treat any specific number you find elsewhere as unverified, and focus on mastering all five content areas rather than aiming for a guessed cut score.
The CDAPA-specific 2026 recertification form and guide require 16 continuing-education hours in at least three areas, plus a $350 fee and practice standards, on a three-year cycle. The generic CCDAPP website says 24 credits, which conflicts with the CDAPA-specific documents, so confirm with CCDAPP before planning.
You can retake within one year of application approval for $100 per attempt, but you must pass within that one-year window. After three failures, you must wait three years before submitting a new application.