CDAPA logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Does CDAPA Stand For?

TL;DR
  • CDAPA stands for Certified Drug and Alcohol Program Administrator, issued by the Certification Commission for Drug and Alcohol Program Professionals (CCDAPP).
  • The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions, four hours, and is closed book, scoped to one transportation modality.
  • Eligibility requires 24 training hours within five years plus 4,000 hours of experience across at least three of seven areas.
  • The US$350 fee covers credential review, the official guide, and one exam attempt; retakes cost $100.

The Short Answer: Certified Drug and Alcohol Program Administrator

CDAPA stands for Certified Drug and Alcohol Program Administrator. The credential is issued by the Certification Commission for Drug and Alcohol Program Professionals, abbreviated CCDAPP. In some of the commission's own materials the name is written with an ampersand, "Certified Drug & Alcohol Program Administrator," but it is the same credential.

That is the full answer to the search query. The rest of this article explains what each word in the title is doing, what the credential actually tests, and how someone earns and keeps it. If you want a broader overview afterward, the companion pages on what CDAPA is and the meaning of CDAPA cover the same ground from different angles.

Identity check: The letters C-D-A-P-A are shared by several unrelated credentials in other fields. This site covers only the Certified Drug and Alcohol Program Administrator credential from CCDAPP. If you arrived looking for a different certification with the same acronym, the details here (fees, exam format, content areas) will not apply to it.

Reading the Credential Name Word by Word

Each word in the title points to something specific about the work and the exam.

Certified

The credential is earned through an application review and a proctored examination, not through simply completing a course. Candidates must document training and professional experience, have that documentation reviewed, and then pass an exam within one year of application approval.

Drug and Alcohol

The subject matter is workplace drug and alcohol testing programs in federally regulated transportation. That includes how specimens are collected, how laboratories and Medical Review Officers handle results, and how Substance Abuse Professionals fit into return-to-duty processes.

Program

The word "program" matters. A CDAPA is not certified to perform one narrow task such as collecting a specimen. The credential is aimed at people who understand how the whole testing program fits together and who keep it running correctly.

Administrator

Administrators are the people who manage, coordinate, and answer for the program inside an employer or a service organization. The title signals oversight and accountability rather than hands-on performance of a single step.

Who Issues the Credential

The Certification Commission for Drug and Alcohol Program Professionals administers the CDAPA. The commission handles the application and credential review, supplies the official guide, and delivers the exam either through live web-proctored online sittings or through arranged convention or commissioner sittings. Publicly available information does not identify a commercial testing vendor, so candidates should expect to deal with CCDAPP directly for scheduling and logistics.

For the practical side of timing and scheduling, see the page on CDAPA exam dates and deadlines.

What the Credential Signals to Employers

Because the name includes "Program Administrator," the credential tends to matter most to organizations that run or support regulated testing programs in transportation. Typical settings include motor carriers, aviation operators, transit agencies, railroads, pipeline operators, and Coast Guard-regulated employers, along with the third-party administrators and service providers that support them.

What the title communicates to a hiring manager:

  • The holder has documented relevant experience across multiple program areas, not just one.
  • The holder has passed a closed-book exam covering collection, laboratory, MRO, and SAP topics.
  • The holder is bound to ongoing continuing education and practice standards through the renewal cycle.

For a candid look at whether those signals translate into career value, read Is the CDAPA Certification Worth It?, and for the roles that actually list the credential, see the overview of CDAPA jobs.

The Five Content Areas Behind the Name

CCDAPP publishes five subject areas for the CDAPA. These are unweighted subject headings, not an official weighted or exhaustive blueprint, and no official per-topic percentages have been verified. That means a candidate cannot honestly say which area carries the most questions. The responsible approach is to prepare across all five. The full breakdown lives in the CDAPA exam domains guide; here is how each area connects to the "program administrator" idea.

Domain 1: Motor Carriers modality-specific content

The exam is built around one transportation modality selected by the candidate. This site scopes preparation to Motor Carriers, so this area covers the rules and program requirements that apply to motor carrier employers and their drivers.

  • Which employees and situations fall under the testing program
  • The types of tests an employer must administer and manage
  • Employer responsibilities, records, and program oversight duties

Domain 2: Specimen collection

Collection is where many program errors originate, and administrators are expected to recognize proper procedure even when they are not the person at the collection site.

  • Collection site requirements and the sequence of the collection process
  • Chain-of-custody concepts and documentation
  • Recognizing problems that can invalidate or compromise a collection

Domain 3: Medical Review Officer (MRO)

The MRO is the licensed physician who reviews laboratory results and communicates with the donor before a result is reported to the employer.

  • The MRO's role between the laboratory and the employer
  • How verified results are reported and what they mean for the employee
  • Where administrative responsibilities end and medical review begins

Domain 4: Substance Abuse Professional (SAP)

The SAP evaluates employees who have violated program rules and guides the return-to-duty process.

  • The SAP's evaluation, recommendation, and follow-up responsibilities
  • How return-to-duty and follow-up testing connect to the employer's obligations
  • What an administrator must do, and must not do, once an employee is referred

Domain 5: Laboratory

Laboratory content covers how specimens are analyzed and how results move through the system.

  • Laboratory testing processes and result categories
  • Handling of specimens and documentation inside the lab
  • How laboratory outcomes feed into MRO review
Weighting caveat: Because no official percentages were verified, any claim that "Domain X is 30 percent of the exam" is unsupported. Treat all five areas as fair game and let your own practice-test results show where you are weakest.

Six Modalities, One Credential

CCDAPP lists six specializations: Motor Carriers, Aviation, Transit, Railroad, Pipeline, and Coast Guard. A candidate selects one for the exam, and the 100 questions are drawn for that selected modality. These specializations are not weighted exam domains; they are the regulatory context in which the five content areas are applied.

ItemWhat It Means for the CDAPA
Modalities availableMotor Carriers, Aviation, Transit, Railroad, Pipeline, Coast Guard
Modality chosen for this site's prepMotor Carriers
Are modalities exam domains?No, they are specializations, not weighted domains
Does this site combine all six exams?No, preparation here is scoped to Motor Carriers only

If you work in more than one modality, check the official guide to confirm how CCDAPP handles your selection before you apply.

How the Credential Is Earned: Eligibility, Fees, and Format

Eligibility

Candidates must show 24 relevant training hours within the past five years and 4,000 hours of relevant professional experience within two years, spread across at least three of seven program areas. No more than eight training hours are credited per course. Supporting training records and experience verification are required. There is no fixed universal count of references and no degree requirement. The full rundown is in the CDAPA requirements guide.

Cost

The fee is US$350 and includes the application and credential review, the official guide, and the exam itself. There is no separate member and non-member price. A retake within one year costs $100, and a $25 charge is listed for late cancellation or no-show rescheduling. The standalone guide is sold separately at $150 but is not an automatic add-on to the package. A fuller picture is available in the CDAPA certification cost breakdown.

Exam format

The exam is 100 multiple-choice questions for the selected transportation modality, with four hours allowed under the January 2026 guide. The split between scored and unscored questions is not disclosed. The exam is closed book, and conventional sittings prohibit calculators and electronic aids. For a realistic sense of difficulty, see how hard the CDAPA exam is.

Remote proctoring rules

  • Valid ID and a working webcam are required.
  • You must test in a private, cleared room.
  • Unrelated applications must be closed.
  • One paper sheet and a pen or pencil are permitted.
  • Breaks are not allowed during the sitting.

Timing and retake limits

You must pass within one year after your application is approved. Accommodation requests must be made in advance. After three failed attempts, a three-year wait applies before a new application can be submitted.

Scoring

A numeric passing score and an official pass rate are not publicly disclosed. Be skeptical of any third-party number presented as official. The pages on the CDAPA passing score and CDAPA pass rate explain what can and cannot be said with confidence.

Key Takeaway

Before paying, confirm which version of the guide you are working from. The January 2026 guide and application were revised, while the public study-guide page references a November 2025 version still labelled 2024. Rely on the guide you receive with your application and verify details with CCDAPP.

Keeping the Title: Three-Year Renewal

The CDAPA is not a one-time credential. It renews on a three-year cycle. The CDAPA-specific 2026 recertification form calls for 16 continuing-education hours in at least three areas, a $350 fee, and agreement to practice standards. Live courses count for a maximum of eight hours each, and home-study courses for a maximum of four hours each.

Conflicting figure to watch: A generic page on the commission's website mentions 24 credits for recertification. That conflicts with the CDAPA-specific form, guide, and CE table, which say 16 hours. Use the CDAPA-specific recertification application as your authority, and confirm with CCDAPP if you are unsure.

Avoiding Acronym Confusion

Searching for "CDAPA" can surface unrelated certifications, because the same five letters are used by other organizations in other fields. Two practical checks keep you on the right credential:

  1. Check the issuer. The credential covered here comes from the Certification Commission for Drug and Alcohol Program Professionals.
  2. Check the subject matter. If the material does not mention specimen collection, MROs, SAPs, laboratories, and a transportation modality, it is not describing this credential.

CCDAPP also offers a separate generalist credential, the CSAPA, which has its own category structure. This site does not reuse CSAPA weights or content for the CDAPA. For other naming variants of the same question, see what CDAPA means, what CDAPA certification is, and the main CDAPA certification overview.

A Short Preparation Sequence Built Around the Content Areas

Since the five areas are unweighted, a sensible sequence starts with the modality context and then follows the testing process from collection through to return-to-duty. The order below mirrors how a result actually travels through a program, which makes the material easier to connect.

Week 1

Motor Carriers modality content

  • Read the official guide's modality material first, since every other area is applied through it.
  • List the employer responsibilities you must be able to recall without notes.
Week 2

Specimen collection and laboratory

  • Walk through the process from collection to chain of custody to laboratory handling in order.
  • Practice spotting procedural errors in sample scenarios.
Week 3

MRO and SAP

  • Separate the MRO's medical review role from the SAP's evaluation role.
  • Map each role to the employer's duties at that stage.
Week 4

Mixed practice under exam conditions

  • Take timed sets with no notes to match the closed-book rule.
  • Return to whichever area your results show is weakest.

For a fuller plan, the CDAPA study guide goes deeper, and the CDAPA cheat sheet is useful for last-minute review. You can also work through timed questions on the CDAPA practice test site to see how the multiple-choice style feels. If you want structured learning before you apply, the overview of CDAPA training is a good starting point, and the CDAPA salary guide discusses the earnings side with appropriate caution.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does CDAPA stand for?

CDAPA stands for Certified Drug and Alcohol Program Administrator. It is a credential issued by the Certification Commission for Drug and Alcohol Program Professionals (CCDAPP) for people who administer drug and alcohol testing programs in regulated transportation.

Is a CDAPA the same as a Substance Abuse Professional or a Medical Review Officer?

No. SAPs and MROs are distinct roles within a testing program, and both are tested as content areas on the CDAPA exam. A CDAPA is an administrator who must understand how those roles, plus specimen collection and laboratory processes, fit together.

How many questions are on the CDAPA exam?

The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions for the selected transportation modality, with four hours allowed under the January 2026 guide. CCDAPP does not publicly disclose how many questions are scored versus unscored, and no numeric passing score has been published.

How much does the CDAPA cost?

The fee is US$350, which includes the application and credential review, the official guide, and the exam. A retake within one year is $100, and a $25 charge applies to late cancellations or no-shows. Renewal every three years carries its own $350 fee on the CDAPA-specific form.

Do I need a college degree to become a CDAPA?

No degree requirement is listed. Eligibility is based on 24 relevant training hours within five years and 4,000 hours of professional experience across at least three of seven areas, supported by training records and experience verification.

Ready to pass your CDAPA exam?

Put this into practice with free CDAPA questions across every exam domain.